Member of the Year

The TWHYA youth member of the year is announced each year at the annual December meeting.  Youth members will accumulate points based on their participation in equine events throughout the year. Emphasis will be placed on volunteer work and participation at TWHBEA sponsored events.  However, members will also receive points for volunteering and participating at non-TWHBEA sponsored events.  The youth named Member of the Year will receive a cash prize, as well as the distinction of having his/her photo displayed at TWHBEA headquarters.  To earn points, youth members can submit eligible actives online anytime between November 1, 2023 and October 31, 2024. Each month, youth members who submit an activity will be entered into a drawing for $50.  Below is a breakdown of how points will be awarded.

Activity Points Awarded
Membership Dues Paid 50 Points
Meeting Attendance 50 Points
Officer/Board Member Service 100 Points
Volunteering at TWHBEA-Sponsored Event 100 Points
Volunteering at non TWHBEA-Sponsored Event 50 Points
Competing at TWHBEA-Sponsored Event 50 Points Per Day, 100 Point Max.
Competing at non TWHBEA-Sponsored Event 25 Points Per Day, 100 Point Max
Trail Riding 25 Points
Independent Horse Activity or Promotion 25 Points
$100 in Horse Show/Medallion Class Sponsorship 10 Points per $100
Each New Member Recruited 25 Points
Silent Auction Item Donated 50 Points, 100 Point Max

Send completed Youth Activity Log form to the address below:

TWHBEA Youth Coordinator
Jessica Ozburn
P.O. Box 286
Lewisburg TN 37091
(931) 359-0583

Scholarship Winners

Recognizing that youth are vital to a successful future for the Tennessee Walking Horse industry, TWHBEA awards both graduate and undergraduate scholarships.

2023 Scholarship Winners

Clara Jean Thompson
Cornersville, TN

Morgan Thomas, IV
Lewisburg, Tennessee

Rachel Cowles
Bowling Green, Kentucky

Hardison Greene
Lewisburg, Tennessee

Olivia Hayes
Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Creative Contest Winners

Fine Art:

Drawing (11 & Under)- 1st Elizabeth Thomas

Drawing (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Madison Moorefield

2nd Kathryn Hopper

Colored Pencil (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Jenny Sanders

2nd Jenny Sanders

3rd Kathryn Hopper

Oil/Acrylic (11 & Under)- 1st Sandy Moorefield

Oil/Acrylic (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Ruth Collins

2nd Ruth Collins

Oil/Acrylic (15-17 yrs.)- 1st Macy Sanders

Mixed Media (15-17 yrs.)- 1st Georgia Hazelwood

Applied Art:

Apparel (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Madison Moorefield

Jewelry (11 & Under)- 1st Sandy Moorefield

2nd Sandy Moorefield


B & W (11 & Under)-1st LiviAna Landon

2nd LiviAna Landon

3rd LiviAna Landon

B & W (15-17 yrs.)- 1st LeiLani Landon

2nd LeiLani Landon

3rd LeiLani Landon

Color (11 & Under)- 1st LiviAna Landon

2nd LiviAna Landon

3rd LiviAna Landon

Color (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Kathryn Hopper

2nd Kathryn Hopper

3rd Kathryn Hopper

Color (15-17 yrs.)- 1st Georgia Hazelwood

2nd Georgia Hazelwood

3rd LeiLani Landon

Commercial Art:

Video (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Lily Watterson

Creative Writing:

Poetry (12-14 yrs.)- 1st Kathryn Hopper Anatomy of a Horse

2nd Kathryn Hopper White Horse

TWHBEA 4-H Achievement Award

The 4-H Achievement Award is given each year by The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ and Exhibitors’ Association to honor the top 4-H horse project in each state using a registered Tennessee Walking Horse.

2021 recipients:

Julia Auck
Shelby, Ohio

TWHYA Horse Bowl

The Tennessee Walking Horse Youth Association hosted its  annual Horse Bowl competition. The competition is open to youth competitors from across the nation. Horse Bowl is an exciting and fun approach to equine knowledge and provides participants the opportunity to demonstrate their knowledge of equine related subject matter as well as information specific to the Tennessee Walking Horse. These youth competitors answered questions like, “How many bones make up the skeleton of a horse?” and “Name the oldest horse to win the World Grand Championship.”

2023 Horse Bowl Winners

Junior Team Champions
Marion County Team
Briella Higdon
Lucas Jordan
Isabella Petty
Jessie Ruth Petty

Senior Team Champions
LeiLani Landon
Georgia Hazelwood
Finley-Grace Brooks
Karlee Jo Davis