Industry Scholarships

Alabama Walking Horse Ladies Auxiliary 

Deadline: January 5, 2025

Eligibility: An immediate family (parent/grandparent/guardian) must be a WHAA member in good standing for at least two years for applicant to be eligible for a scholarship. 

The Alabama Walking Horse Ladies Auxiliary scholarships are for $500 each. 

Jane Hardy Meredith Memorial Scholarship

Deadline: July 30, 2024


  1. Must be or have a family member who is a member of TWHBEA
  2. Cannot apply for the scholarship before junior year of high school.
  3. Cannot be over the age of 24

The Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ Foundation is administering the Jane Hardy Meredith Memorial Scholarship and is now taking applications. The deadline for applying is July 30, 2024. Scholarships will be based upon availability of funds and will be awarded based on academic performance (1/3), extracurricular activities (1/3), equine involvement (1/3).  Scholarship recipients are eligible to use the award for undergraduate educational expenses at the College, Junior College, University or Trade School of their choice.

For those that would like to donate to this scholarship fund, please make the check to: Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ Foundation

Mail to: Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ Foundation, 250 N. Ellington Parkway, Lewisburg, TN 37091

South Central Kentucky Walking Horse Association 

Deadline: March 9, 2024

Eligibility: Open to any student who is involved in the walking horse industry, especially in Kentucky. You must attend their banquet the second weekend of March.

Marshall County Horsemans Association 

Deadline: April 15, 2024 

Eligibility: Must live in Marshall County, Tennessee and be associated with the horse business in some way (doesn’t have to be walking horses)

The Marshall County Horsemans Association will award a total of $1,000 in scholarships this year.

For more information or questions contact Freda Dean at or 931-703-4808.

Pleasure Walking Horse Association of Tennessee (PWHAT) 

Deadline: June 1, 2024 

Eligibility: Must be a PWHAT member for a minimum of 12 months

The mission of the PWHAT Scholarship Program is to provide monetary assistance to our youth members seeking to earn a degree of higher education. The PWHAT Scholarship Program will provide financial assistance to our individual members enrolled for undergraduate study in community colleges, vocational/trade schools, colleges and universities. Assisting the youth of the PWHAT organization will produce future leaders that can carry on the promotion and business of the Pleasure Tennessee Walking Horse both in and out of Tennessee.

Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders’ & Exhibitors’ Association (TWHBEA) / Dowell Family

Deadline: June 15, 2024 

Eligibility: Must be a TWHBEA member for 18 months prior to the deadline

TWHBEA and the Glenn C. Dowell Family recognize that youth are vital to the successful future of the Tennessee Walking Horse industry and awards both graduate and undergraduate scholarships each year. Scholarships can be used for accredited colleges, junior colleges, universities, or trade schools. The scholarship amounts are based on availability of funds and the selection is based equally on academic performance, extracurricular activities, and equine involvement.

Walking Horse Trainers’ Auxiliary 

Deadline: June 15, 2024

Eligibility: Any person involved with Tennessee Walking Horses

Each year the Auxiliary awards scholarships to any person involved with Tennessee Walking Horses who is furthering his/her education. Scholarships are based on need, merit, Auxiliary members and/or their families, and graduate degree-seeking students. These scholarships are for those in college and those starting college. At least one scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a graduate degree.

Contact Beth Thomas at 931-580-6825, or Kari Tisma at 678-576-1290, for a scholarship packet.

Walking Horse Trainers’ Association (WHTA) Glenn C. Dowell Family Scholarship 

Deadline: July 1, 2024

Eligibility: Open to children of members or employees of the WHTA

The scholarship selection is based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, citizenship achievements, contributions to the walking horse industry, and financial need.

Walking Horse Owners Association (WHOA) Charles B. Howard Memorial Scholarship 

Deadline: July 31, 2024

Eligibility: Membership is not required, but you must submit a character reference from a current WHOA member (not from a youth or relative).

The Walking Horse Owners Association Scholarship Fund in Memory of Charles B. Howard was established in 2021 to provide monetary assistance to our degree seeking members. The mission of the Charles B. Howard scholarship is to provide financial assistance to individuals enrolled for undergraduate study in community colleges, colleges, trade schools and universities. The Scholarship principally targets two and four year academic programs; however, certificate/licensing programs including but not limited to fields such as business, animal/vet tech and related fields may also be eligible.

East Tennessee Walking Horse Association 

Deadline: July 31, 2024

Eligibility: Applicant must have a parent or grandparent who is a member of the ETWHA in good standing for at least 16 months prior to their scholarship application.

The East Tennessee Walking Horse Association will award one (1) scholarship of $1,000 based on academic performance, extra-curricular activities, and equine activities. The scholarship recipient is eligible to use the award for expenses at the college, university, community college or trade school of his or her choice.

North Carolina Walking Horse Association 

Deadline: September 27, 2024

Eligibility: Applicants must have been a member of the NCWHA by June 1 of the scholarship year.

The North Carolina Walking Horse Association offers a minimum of two $1,000 scholarships each year – The Lynn Culbreth Memorial Scholarship and the NCWHA/Ronald Mosley Memorial Scholarship. Depending on funding, more scholarships may be made available.

Applications will be available in August on the NCWHA website or by emailing